Recording Academy P&E Wing Announces 2020-21 Steering Committee

The Recording Academy Producers & Engineers Wing has announced its 2020–2021 Steering Committee. The newly seated Committee consists of a diverse array of music engineers, producers and studio professionals who, building upon the significant legacy established by prior Steering Committees, will work to address key issues confronting music production and promote meaningful solutions to help move the industry forward.
The P&E Wing continues to advocate for excellence and best practices in sound recording, audio technologies, and education in the recording arts, along with proper crediting, recognition, and rights for music creators overall. The 2020–2021 Steering Committee is co-chaired by Philadelphia-based GRAMMY-nominated producer/engineer Ivan Barias and San Francisco Bay Area-based mastering engineer Piper Payne, and also includes the following music industry professionals from across the United States: Maria Elisa Ayerbe, Jeff Balding, Jimmy Douglass, Emily Lazar, Manny Marroquin, Elise Perry, Ebonie Smith and Gebre Waddell, in addition to ex-officio member Harvey Mason Jr., Chair and Interim President/CEO of the Recording Academy. Additionally, Douglass, Lazar, Payne, and Waddell are currently serving as Academy Trustees.
"Our 2020–2021 Steering Committee is well-positioned to carry the torch from our previous team. This committee represents a diverse set of perspectives and talents and can speak for a wide cross section of the industry,” said Maureen Droney, Recording Academy Managing Director, Producers & Engineers Wing and Recording Technology. “Their duties will include prioritizing the initiatives that our membership cares about the most, and setting our agenda for the year, which will include a focus on immersive audio and establishing a chain of responsibilities for the collection of credits for all of those who have contributed to the recording process."