The Darkness at the El Rey Theater

The Darkness played the El Rey Theater (Moved from Novo) in Los Angeles, CA Tuesday night (3/15). The Darkness celebrated their 20th anniversary in 2020 and next year will mark the 20th anniversary of their debut album Permission to Land. Just five months before the Covid-19 Pandemic began the Darkness released their sixth album Easter is Canceled and toured around the U.K. before the end of 2019. The band had planned a world tour with dates in Europe, North America, New Zealand, and Australia, however the tour stopped March 15th, 2020 in Australia when lockdowns around the globe began. The Darkness resumed touring in November 2021 playing over 20 shows across the U.K., Scotland and Ireland. However this was actually a new tour since they had released a new album in 2021 titled Motorheart. On March 9th the North American leg began in San Diego, CA nearly two years after the Covid-19 pandemic started. The El Rey was just the fifth show so far and third in Southern CA.

The Darkness was founded in England and initially existed for six years before taking a five year hiatus and reunited in 2011. The original four members Justin Hawkins (Lead Vocals/ Guitar), Dan Hawkins (Guitar), Frankie Poullain (Bass), and Ed Graham (Drums) were together until 2014 with the exception of Poullain being out a year. Rufus Tiger Taylor son of Queen drummer Roger Taylor who also toured with Queen became the groups third drummer in 2015.

The show opened with “Welcome Tae Glasgae” and was 16 songs total. To describe seeing a Darkness show would be an 80’s vibe and simply fun to watch. There really is nothing like a Darkness show, the band is great, the songs are great, and they leave the fans wanting more. For the encore of “I Believe in a Thing Called Love.” Justin Hawkins came out in just briefs, a vest, and Rob Halford style leather hat


  1. Welcome Tae Glasgae

  2. One Way Ticket

  3. Growing on Me

  4. Motorheart

  5. Open Fire

  6. Solid Gold

  7. Givin' Up

  8. It's Love, Jim

  9. Black Shuck

  10. Heart Explodes

  11. Friday Night

  12. Love Is Only a Feeling

  13. Japanese Prisoner of Love

  14. Barbarian

  15. Get Your Hands Off My Woman


  1. I Believe in a Thing Called Love