System of a Down & Korn at Banc of California Stadium

System of A Down and KORN along with Helmet and Russian Circles played the Banc of CA Stadium February 4th and 5th after the shows had been postponed. The show included Faith No More originally but they had canceled all dates last year. The last time System of A Down played a SoCal show was in San Diego 2018 and the last Los Angeles show was in 2015. In October 2021, SOAD had been on a short run of CA dates and one in Las Vegas, NV before having to postpone these shows. SOAD resumed these shows in Phoenix, AZ January 31st and the Banc of CA shows were the last of this seven show run.This sure was a memorable show and intense would be a good word to describe it.

Last time Korn played around L.A. was the Five Point Amphitheater in Irvine. Frontman Jonathan Davis was still recovering from Covid-19 and had to be seated part of the show, guitarist Munky was off a few days also for Covid-19 and a month after that show drummer Ray Luzier had to miss a few dates for the same reason. Just before the tour bassist Fieldy had taken a hiatus from touring and was replaced by Suicidal Tendencies’ Ra Diaz. This time Davis was back to 100% and their current lineup was all together.  Korn played 13 songs opening with “Here to Stay,” and included fan favorites like “Falling Away From Me,” “Freak On a Leash,” and “A.D.I.D.A.S.” Korn closed out their set with “Blind,” Korn is the kind of band from the minute that they hit the stage they bring it each and every night. I’ve seen Korn in venues of all sizes and they play with just as much intensity. To see Davis playing the bagpipes in a venue of that size was quite an experience alone. Korn had just released their 14th album “Requiem” on the 4th. Since their self-titled debut album in 1994, Korn has consistently released a new album between one and three years.  Next year will mark the band’s 30th anniversary.

The last full tour SOAD played was 10 years ago and since then they have been playing major festivals in Europe and the U.S. as well as short tours. SOAD started playing “X” behind a curtain and once the curtain dropped the mayhem began. SOAD released five albums in just seven years and have not released a new album in 17 years, however it’s easy to see how popular the group still is and their impact on Metal over the last 20+ years. System of a Down has been composed of Serj Tankian (Vocals), Daron Malakian (Guitar), Shavo Odadjian (Bass), and John Dolmayan (Drums) since their self-titled debut album in 1998. Although it seems to be every three years that System of a Down does CA dates, it's always worth the wait. The setlist consisted of an astonishing 27 songs and the band still plays with as much intensity as ever. The set included all the hits from “Cigaro,” “Chop Suey!” to “Hypnotize and Toxicity.” The show could be heard from blocks away from the stadium.

Feb. 5th setlist


  1. Here to Stay

  2. Falling Away From Me

  3. Start the Healing

  4. Clown

  5. Shoots and Ladders/ One (Metallica)

  6. Got the Life

  7. Coming Undone/ We Will Rock You (Queen)

  8. Y'All Want a Single

  9. Freak on a Leash

  10. It's On! / Trash / Did My Time

  11. Twist

  12. A.D.I.D.A.S.

  13. Blind


System of A Down

  1. X

  2. Prison Song

  3. Holy Mountains

  4. Mind (Only intro)

  5. Cigaro

  6. Suite-Pee

  7. Needles

  8. Deer Dance

  9. Soldier Side - Intro

  10. Soldier Side

  11. B.Y.O.B.

  12. Genocidal Humanoidz

  13. Suggestions

  14. Psycho

  15. Chop Suey!

  16. Lonely Day

  17. Lost in Hollywood

  18. Radio/Video

  19. Dreaming (Only middle breakdown)

  20. Hypnotize

  21. ATWA

  22. Bounce

  23. Chic 'N' Stu

  24. Protect the Land

  25. Aerials

  26. Toxicity

  27. Sugar