Omnivore's 'Homeroom' Track List Announced

Omnivore Recordings has announced the official track list and lineup of Bay Area artists featured on the HOMEROOM: Music From and Inspired by the Motion Picture album, out Friday, August 27. Goapele, Rexx Life Raj, Dame D.O.L.L.A., White Dave, DJ D Sharp and more join emerging artist Elena (a.k.a. Elena Pinderhughes), who presents a powerful and deeply personal cover of Karina Nicks’ song “Rising Sun.” Karina, an aspiring singer, unexpectedly passed away at the age of 16 just as the film got under way in 2019. The film is dedicated to her.

“Youth power” is the core theme of this collection of powerful music destined to reflect and inspire today’s generation of young people. Click here to watch the new music video featuring youth leaders from the film.

Directed by Peter Nicks and executive produced by Ryan Coogler, HOMEROOM powerfully documents the tenacity of Oakland High’s class of 2020 as they confront an unprecedented year derailed by COVID-19 while also rocked by the national trauma of the police killings of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and so many others. HOMEROOM is a Hulu Original Documentary and was released on August 12, 2021. Click here to watch the latest trailer for the film. HOMEROOM is the third and most personal in Nick’s trilogy of vérité portraits including The Waiting Room (2012) and The Force (2017).

HOMEROOM: Music From and Inspired by the Motion Picture features nine tracks including “Look at Us,” by Goapele featuring Rexx Life Raj, and two versions of “Rising Sun,” one performed by Elena and the other by Karina Nicks. The soundtrack also includes “Bigger Than Us” performed by Dame D.O.L.L.A. featuring Paul Rey.

Track list:

  1. “Look at Us” - Goapele featuring Rexx Life Raj
  2. “Hyphy”- Tia Nomore, Bruh from Last Night and Mikos da Gawd
  3. “Bigger Than Us”- Dame D.O.L.L.A. featuring Paul Rey
  4. “Keep It Player”- DJ D Sharp and Ian Kelly
  5. “Pesos” by Studio_Dad, WADE08 & Tia Nomore feat. Lord Morgan, Wayne Mills & Pretty Bobby
  6. “Climb”- White Dave & Elena
  7. “Manifest” by Basi & Drew Banga
  8. “Rising Sun” - Elena
  9. “Rising Sun”- Karina Nicks

Pre-order link: http://www.omnivorerecordings.com/shop/homeroom