Vox Pop Nominee

The Year’s Most Exceptional Artists and Releases Announced At The 17th Annual Independent Music Awards

Established artists and rising stars from around the world packed the Symphony Space Performing Arts Center on Saturday, June 22 to celebrate indie artists and artistry at The 17th annual Independent Music Awards (The IMAs).

Beyond Creation, Broken Rail, Ella Vos, Erik Scott, Juliana Hatfield, Lucy Wainwright Roche, Mamita Peyote, Masta Ace and Marco Polo, Miss Tara, Ne Obliviscaris, Nina Attal, Pedro Luìs, Prateek Kuhad and Rogério Caetano are among the diverse roster of self-released and indie label artists honored at The 17th IMAs.

A complete list of winners is available at independentmusicawards.com/the-17th-independent-music-awards-winners.

The winning projects were selected by judging panels comprised of top recording talent including Tom Waits, Lee Ann Womack, Robert Smith, Nicole Atkins, Todd Rundgren, Martha Wash and Jim Brickman, among many others; and influential press, managers and talent buyers from the Americas, Europe and the Pacific Rim.

Ten nominated bands including Ale Jiménez, Alicia Michilli, Bombay Rickey, Between Giants, Claudia Acuña, Low Lily, Mark Erelli, Nsimbi, Shadow of Whales and Shon Weathers performed between award presentations in 104 music, video and visual design categories. Bombay Rickey, Between Giants, Low Lily, Mark Erelli, Nsimbi and Shadow of Whales were also among this year’s winners.

åMBe, Roman Miroshnichenko, Fiona Bloom, Fiona Joy, Jackknife Stiletto, Jan Bell, Jana Fisher, Jim Brickman, Jeff Oster, Lucy Kalantari and Martha Wash were among the presenters.

The award show and ceremony was the climax of The IMAs Indie Konference, a two-day convention of independent creatives and influencers from around the globe.

Program winners and nominees are an eclectic mix of extraordinary artists and include Amy Lee, Killer Mike, Valerie June, J.D. McPherson, Meghan Trainor, Nik West, Passenger, Macy Gray, ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail of Dead, RuPaul, John McEuen, Sofia Rei, Jamie Lidell, Flying Lotus, and fun. among many, many more.

Winning projects are selected by panels of iconic Artists which have included Keith Richards, Tom Waits, Aimee Mann, M’shell Ndegeocello, Norah Jones, Chris Thile, Peter Gabriel, Suzanne Vega, Snoop Dogg, Melissa Etheridge, Buddy Guy, Ozzy Osborne, among many others; and programmers, talent buyers, music supervisors and other influencers worldwide.

Submissions for The 18th annual Independent Music Awards open in the summer of 2019. Details, as well as a complete list of nominees, winners and judges,  are available at IndependentMusicAwards.com