Treetop Flyers Sign To Partisan Records


Treetop Flyers have announced the release of their debut album, The Mountain Moves, out June 25th on Partisan Records. Though based in London, the British five-piece - Reid Morrison (vocals/guitars), Sam Beer (guitar/vocals), Laurie Sherman (guitar), Mathew Starritt (bass/vocals) and the band's lone American, Tomer Danan (drums/vocals) - swapped urban England for the picturesque beaches and rolling hills of Malibu, where the album was recorded at Zuma Sound, a studio originally built for Rick Rubin.

Produced by Noah Georgeson (Devendra Banhart, Joanna Newsom, Bert Jansch), The Mountain Moves is a record of hope, honesty and huge choruses, its universally reaching songs strewn with sunshine-infused four-part harmonies, propelled by an irrefutable open-highway groove. Paying their dues to everyone from The Band and Neil Young by way of Little Feat and Fleetwood Mac, there are also nods towards the more contemporary likes of My Morning Jacket, Band Of Horses, and Jonathan Wilson wrapped up in this debut.

Treetop Flyers became a serious proposition not long after they booked a rehearsal room in Shepherds Bush for a no-pressure jam session. From then on the band's fate as a dreamy, Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young style Americana act was sealed. Sam and Reid went on to write the band's first song, the delicate comedown country of '"Is It All Worth It," together in an empty room in Sam's house. "It was a moment where you realize that we can be a band that's greater than the sum of their parts, and make a noise that none of us can predict," he says of the Simon & Garfunkel referencing number. "We can all hope for it but none of us can do it alone."

Treetop Flyers went on to win the Glastonbury Emerging Talent Competition in 2011, playing 6 shows at the Festival that year, and have released two well-received singles in the UK on Communion Records, finding early radio support from Radio 1, 6 Music, Absolute, and XFM. Last year, the band signed to Loose Music, the UK home of acclaimed Americana acts including Jim White, The Handsome Family, Dawes, The Felice Brothers, and Deer Tick. In support of the album they will embark on an extensive European tour, with US dates to follow in summer 2013.

For more information, visit http://www.treetopflyers.co.uk.