Post Malone

Post Malone at The Forum in Inglewood, CA

Rapper Post Malone wrapped up leg 1 of his Runaway tour (in support of his latest album Hollywood's Bleeding) with two back-to-back nights at The Forum in Inglewood, CA. Before he set foot on stage for his Nov. 20 show, the enthusiastic crowd of predominantly teenagers chanted “Posty” over and over again as loud as they could. Everyone was very eager to finally hear Malone sing after watching tour openers Swae Lee (Malone’s collaborator on “Sunflower,” from Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse) and Tyla Yaweh.

In a plume of smoke and rattling bass, Malone popped through his runway stage performing the titular song of his new album "Hollywood's Bleeding." Malone's stage set up was elaborate yet intimate. The runway stage gave Malone plenty of room to jump around and interact with the pits on either side of him. Two enormous projection screens provided close up glimpses of the musician, plus the occasional bursts of fireworks, fire and light beams was an extravagant experience.

What I like most about Post Malone is that he doesn't fit into one genre, he effortlessly blends the genres of hip-hop, rock and pop. That's what keeps his music interesting and innovative. Malone's voice is unique, he's able to growl at the mic during songs like "Wow" and "Over Now," while also moan with pain on "Goodbyes" and "I Fall Apart." Keeping the night interesting, he pumped up the crowd by rocking the stage with "Take What You Want,” a song that features metal icon Ozzy Osbourne. Video of Osbourne appeared on the giant screens and ended with loud bursts of fire and pyrotechnics. Right after, Malone returned on stage carrying an acoustic guitar and treated fans to an acoustic performance of “Stay.”

Radio hits “Circles,” "Psycho” and “Rockstar” were definite crowd favorites of the night. Malone fed off the audience cheering and singing along, smiling widely through the night and humbly thanking the crowd.

For the song “Sunflower,” Malone brought out collaborator and tourmate Swae Lee on stage—who threw sunflowers to the audience. Malone closed out the night with “Congratulations,” and left the crowd with some words of inspiration, “Live your life, live your dream, live your truth—and don’t let anybody stop y’all, ‘cause each and every one of you are fucking rockstars.”

Leg 2 of the Runaway returns in 2020. Stops along the way include shows in Philly, Memphis, Houston, Chicago, Las Vegas, and Toronto before wrapping up in Utah on March 21. For more information, visit

Photos by Jacqueline Naranjo

Set List:

  1. Hollywood's Bleeding
  2. Better Now
  3. Saint-Tropez
  4. Goodbyes
  5. Die for Me
  6. Allergic
  7. Candy Paint
  8. Psycho
  9. Enemies
  10. Wow.
  11. Paranoid
  12. I Fall Apart
  13. Over Now
  14. Take What You Want
  15. Stay (Acoustic)
  16. Circles
  17. Go Flex
  18. White Iverson
  19. Sunflower (with Swae Lee)
  20. rockstar
  21. Congratulations