Studio Mix: September 2021


LCD Soundsystem Side Project: Museum of Love

LCD Soundsystem offshoot Museum Of Love has released its first new album in seven years, Life of Mammals. The project consists of Pat Mahoney, co-founder and drummer of LCD Soundsystem, and Dennis McNany, known for his production work as Jee Day. The album was produced/recorded between Mahoney’s LCD touring commitments and was mixed by LCD frontman James Murphy.





Bnny Hops With “Time Walk”

Chicago-based Bnny, led by Jess Viscius alongside her twin sister Alexa, plus best friends Tim Makowski and Matt Pelkey, is Fire Talk’s newest signing. Lead single “Time Walk” is featured in the finale of the new season of Hulu’s Shrill, among other prime TV placements.





Rochelle Plays with Changes

For Los Angeles-based artist Rochelle Jordan, a desire for sonic expansion has been embedded into her fusion of futuristic and soulful R&B. Jordan blends sampledelic ‘90s pop, vintage U.K. house and garage, 31st century electronic bangers, airy late night ballads, and progressive hip-hop. On her latest album Play With the Changes, Jordan showcases her own personal evolution and a path to pushing sound forward.



Ex Deo, Rome and Nero

Montreal-based symphonic death metal band, Ex Deo, is a side project of Kataklysm frontman, Maurizio Iacono. The music (and costume armor) is based on the history of the Roman Empire. After a short hiatus and years spent recording new material, Iacono and co. released The Thirteen Years of Nero on August 27.


Libra at SirTiger Studio

Brazilian indie-pop artist Libra recorded his latest singles “Flakey Town (featuring Elyse Cizek)” and “Summer Night (featuring Marnie Price)” with Will Golden at SirTiger Studio. The songs were mastered by Mark Chalecki. The brainchild of musician Zeh Monstro, Libra was born out of six years of observations by an outsider looking in, a South American taking on what it means to live, love and party in Los Angeles.


Roomful of Teeth at The Tank

Grammy-winning vocal band Roomful of Teeth have released a new single “Fall Into Me.” Arranged by Teeth’s Dashon Burton, “Fall Into Me” was written by German-Turkish composer Alev Lenz, and recorded in The Tank—an 80-year-old seven-story Corten steel water tank in Rangely, Colorado, known for its otherworldly acoustics.


Jason Chu and Alan Z Release Face Value

Rappers jason chu (pictured) and Alan Z released Face Value, a hip-hop album and multimedia project that shines a spotlight on the history of the Asian American community.  Face Value includes collaborations from a diverse team of East, Southeast and South Asian women and men creatives, including Ronny Chieng, Dante Basco, Ruby Ibarra, AJ Rafael, Zeda Zhang and more. The record touches on a wide range of issues, including immigration, American racism, and gender.