Nashville Music Awards

SESAC Celebrates Songwriters and Publishers at 2019 Nashville Music Awards

SESAC celebrated its songwriters and music publishers behind the year’s most-performed country and Americana songs at the company’s annual Nashville Music Awards on Sunday, Nov. 10, at the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum.

Justin Ebach was named SESAC’s Songwriter of the Year for the second time, taking home his first award in 2017. Ebach’s hits from the past year include “Good Girl,” recorded by Dustin Lynch and “Here Tonight,” recorded by Brett Young. The longest-running No. 1 Country Airplay song of 2019, “Beautiful Crazy,” co-written by Wyatt Durrette III, published by Rosest Music, and recorded by Luke Combs was named SESAC Song of the Year. Warner Chappell Music took home the Publisher of the Year accolade during the event after previously winning the award in 2017.

Dustin Lynch was on hand to present Ebach with his award for Songwriter of the Year. The Song of the Year and Publisher of the Year awards were presented by SESAC executives Shannan Hatch and Sam Kling. Eric Church surprised his co-writer, Ray Wylie Hubbard, as he presented him with the award for his song “Desperate Man.”

The awards ceremony kicked off with a lot of energy as Blanco Brown performed “The Git Up.” Jimmie Allen provided a rendition of his debut single “Best Shot” on piano, alongside co-writer and fellow award winner Josh London. Ray Wylie Hubbard took the stage last to perform Eric Church’s “Desperate Man,” which he co-wrote with Church.

More than 500 songwriters, publishers, and industry professionals attended the awards celebration, sponsored in part by Sound Royalties, SunTrust, Sweetwater, Bose and Jostens.