Pensado Awards 2016 Photo by Siri Svay

Pensado Awards 3 at Sony Pictures Studio in Culver City, CA

The third annual Pensado Awards took place at Sony Pictures Studios in Culver City, CA and hosted some of pro audio’s biggest players, including the honoring of mix engineer Chris Lord-Alge with the Pensado GIANT Award for his lifetime achievements. In addition, the night featured the #WeStandForDavid campaign where guests rallied to donate and aid Blackbird Academy student, David Platillero, in his recovery from severe spinal damage that resulted from his being struck by a texting driver.

The awards were founded by Pensado’s Place co-hosts Dave Pensado and Herb Trawick of Penwick Media to acknowledge talented producers, engineers, mixers and their work, serving as an opportunity for the best pro’s, amateurs, brands and press to come together as one community to celebrate the uncelebrated.

At the ceremony, the following winners were announced:

• OMG! Mix of the Year: Josh Gudwin/Andrew Wuepper for “Sorry” (Justin Bieber); Vance Powell for “Tennessee Whiskey” (Chris Stapleton)
• Game Changer of the Year Award: Dave Cobb
• Break Thru Songwriter: Brody Brown
• Master of Mastering: Joe LaPorta
• Tracking Engineer: Steve Genewick
• Best Non-English Song: JJ Lin, “Twilight”
• Outstanding Brand: Indaba Music
• Break Thru Mixer Award: Delbert Bowers
• Live/FOH: Wilberto Madera (Pitbull)
• Spin Doctor DJ Award: Henry Fong
• AIR Award (Best Assistant, Intern or Runner): Shamir Nicholas, Chris Galland and Wesley Seidman
• Outstanding Achievement in Sound for Visual Medium Award: Straight Outta Compton
• Pensado Giant Award: Chris Lord-Alge
• Dave Pensado Educator Award: Learn from Legends, Recording Connection
• Herb Trawick Visionary Award: Xfer Records

Photos by Chris Schmitt, Victoria Patneaude and Siri Svay.

For more information about the Pensado Awards, visit