Mix With the Masters To Host Al Schmitt Tribute

Friday (May 7) at 11am PST (2pm EST, 7pm U.K.) Mix with the Masters will pay homage to the iconic engineer Al Schmitt, who passed away April 26.

MWTM will be hosting a discussion amongst a number of acclaimed record producers, as well as high-profile artists who have worked with Al including Melody Gardot and Michael Bublé.

The tribute will be streamed live on the Mix with the Masters' YouTube channel and available for everyone to view.

JOIN ON YOUTUBE OR MWTM.COM THIS FRIDAY


During an astonishingly long career, Schmitt has won 23 Grammy Awards, making him the most successful engineer/mixer in Grammy history. During his career, Al has recorded and mixed more than 150 gold and platinum albums and was inducted into the TEC Awards Hall of Fame in 1997. He received the Grammy Trustees Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006. Schmitt’s credits range back to the 1950s, when he worked with Leonard Feather, Marty Paich, and Henry Mancini. His credit list at Allmusic contains over 1100 entries, including the likes of Earth, Wind & Fire, Barbra Streisand, Neil Young, Diana Ross, Robbie Williams, Toni Braxton, Michael Bublé, Elvis Costello, Liza Minelli, Brian Wilson, Norah Jones, Bob Dylan, and Paul McCartney to name only a few.

Avatar