Foreigner at Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, CA

To celebrate Foreigner’s 40th anniversary, the band’s classic lineup reunited for the first time in 37 years last year. Since 2012 Foreigner has consisted of founding member Mick Jones (guitar), guitarist/keyboardist/saxophonist Thom Gimbel (Ex-Aerosmith touring member), bassist Jeff Pilson (Ex-Dokken), lead singer Kelly Hansen (Ex-Hurricane), Michael Bluestein, (keys), guitarist Bruce Watson, and drummer Chris Frazier (Ex-Whitesnake). When Foreigner formed 42 years ago the band formed with three members from the UK: Jones who had come from Spooky Tooth, saxophonist/guitarist/keyboardist Ian Mcdonald a former King Crimson member, and drummer Dennis Elliott who played with former Mott the Hoople singer Ian Hunter. The other half of Foreigner was American: vocalist Lou Gramm, keyboardist Al Greenwood, and bassist Ed Gagliardi who was replaced by British bassist Rick Wills (Ex-Rock Music/ Small Faces) in 1979. The reunited lineup of Foreigner had recorded only the album Head Games together in 1981 while ⅚ of the band were on the the first two releases as well. It’s been 31 years since 4/6 of the Head Games lineup released an album together.

This short tour titled “Double Vision: Then and Now” started at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles. This was the first of four shows featuring the current members and Head Games lineup. It is also the first time all members have toured together rather than one-off shows. The show was an hour 45 minutes starting with the current lineup minus Jones. The show was broken into parts with the current band playing eight songs starting with “Cold As Ice,” which Hansen walked through the crowd during it. The next song was “Head Games.” It was easy to see this show would be a greatest hits night. Hansen dedicated the third song “Waiting For a Girl Like You,” to the firemen and first responders fighting the Woolsey fire. The current lineup ended with “Juke Box Hero,” before Hansen shared with the audience there would be a quick changeover before something very special happened meaning one of the most anticipated reunions in rock.

One by one the classic lineup was announced as each member walked out. “Feels Like the First Time,” was the first song of the second half of the show. It was a very special experience seeing this lineup back together. The band continued with another one of their biggest hits “Double Vision.” Both lineups joined together for “I Want to Know What Love Is,” along with a youth choir from Adopt the Arts, a non-profit founded by former Guns N’ Roses drummer Matt Sorum that helps save public school art programs. All members also played an encore of “Hot Blooded,” which was a platinum-selling single 40 years ago.

Upcoming reunion dates
11/30 Hard Rock Hotel Atlantic City, NJ
12/1 Mohegan Sun Uncasville, CT



1. Cold as Ice
2. Head Games
3. Waiting For a Girl Like You
4. That Was Yesterday
5. Head Knocker
6. Urgent
7. Keyboard and Drum solo
8. Juke Box Hero
Changeover to classic lineup
9. Feels like the First Time
10. Double Vision
11. Blue Morning, Blue Day
12. Long, Long Way from Home
13. Dirty White Boy
14. I Want to Know What Love Is (Both lineups with Choir)
15. Hot Blooded (Both Lineups)