Ellis Paul Wins Top Honors at the 16th Annual IAMA's

Ellis Paul has won and the Best Folk/Americana/Roots Award and the Top Honors Award at the 16th Annual International Acoustic Music Awards (IAMA).

Charlottesville, VA based Ellis Paul is an award-winning artist, armed with an acoustic guitar, covering the human condition and documenting the hopes, dreams, loves, losses and innermost secrets of those he observes. He turns their stories into luminous and thrilling pieces of music that get under your skin and into your bloodstream. Paul’s 20th release in a career spanning 30 years is 2019’s The Storyteller’s Suitcase, named Album of the Year by the Northeast Regional Folk Alliance (NERFA). The album represents a sonic triumph for Paul in his first solo run as a producer. Relying on a small coterie of musicians who sprinkle the songs with tasteful additions of Hammond B3, 12-string electrics, harp, mandolin and fiddles, Paul layers the instruments around the core foundation of his acoustic guitar and voice in a way that opens the songs up to their fullest potential without overwhelming their thoughtful arrangements.

"I’d like to thank the IAMA for the honor of this award. It’s nice to know that there are still nice surprises around the bend on this long winding path of a career. I love a good song — writing them, hearing them by other people, and sharing them that seems to fit into the mission of IAMA. Thanks for reminding me I’m on the right track still!", said Paul.

Other notable winners include Joel Rafael and Jason Mraz; they won Best Group/Duo.

Natalia Zukerman, who won a Runner-Up award in the Best Folk Category. Russian virtuoso guitarist Roman Miroshnichenko, who won Best Instrumental. He has performed with other notable guitarists such as Steve Vai, Al Di Meola and Larry Coryell.

Here is the list of winners:

Overall Grand Prize Winner
Ellis Paul

FIRST PRIZE: “Ostrov” by Roman Miroshnichenko
RUNNER-UP: “Extension of the Heart” by John Evergon

FIRST PRIZE: “Let’s Leave Town” by Sarah Kervin
RUNNER-UP: “At Least I’m Honest” by Ryan Curran

FIRST PRIZE: “Under the Gun” by Parker Ainsworth
RUNNER-UP: “Slopes” by GoCasual

FIRST PRIZE: “I Ain’t No Jesus” by Ellis Paul
RUNNER-UP: “Ride In The Rain” by Natalia Zukerman

FIRST PRIZE: “Under Our Skin” by Joel Rafael, featuring Jason Mraz
RUNNER-UP: “Love is a Weapon” by Stone & Snow

FIRST PRIZE: “Innocence” by Joe Cleere
RUNNER-UP: “Screaming” by Lew

FIRST PRIZE: “Somersault” by Tokunbo Akinro
RUNNER-UP: “Until You Let Her Down” by Siobhan Cotchin

FIRST PRIZE: “Jealous Wind” by Kyle Dillingham & Horseshoe Road
RUNNER-UP: “The Girl Up On the Hill” by Kevin Serey & Friends