BMI Continues Support of the Sundance Institute Film Music and Sound Design Lab 2020

Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI)  today announced its continued support of the Sundance Institute Film Music and Sound Design Lab 2020 in collaboration with Skywalker Sound. The prestigious program returns with a new reimagined digital format on Sundance Co//ab from July 27–August 14, 2020.

BMI composers Aaron Parks, Ariel Marx and Jeff “Gitty” Gitelman were invited to participate along with Cora (Yi-Huan) Chung, DeAndre Allen-Toole and Sultana Isham to round out this year’s talented group of Fellows.

“We’re proud to continue supporting the Lab’s commitment to fostering new emerging composers because it aligns perfectly with what we do at BMI,” said Doreen Ringer-Ross, Vice President, Creative Relations, BMI. “The program has enhanced the careers of numerous composers who have gone on to become some of the most sought-after talents in the industry, which not only highlights the success of the program, but the importance and value of mentorship.”

Lead by Peter Golub, Director of the Sundance Film Music Program, the Lab brings emerging gifted film composers together with fiction and documentary filmmakers, and sound designers to explore the power of storytelling through score and sound. Composers and filmmakers will have the opportunity to score selections for either a fiction or documentary feature-length film during the two-week program.

Drawing from its support of the Film Music Program, BMI produces a composer/director roundtable each year at the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah, highlighting its composers who have scored films in the prestigious festival.

In addition to Doreen Ringer-Ross, this year’s creative advisors include award-wining composers Blake Neely, Germaine Franco, Heather McIntosh, James Newton Howard, Kathryn Bostic, Kris Bowers, Michael Abels, Miriam Cutler, Philip Klein and Thomas Newman. Other creative advisors include Skywalker Sound effects editors Alyssa Nevarez, Chris Frazier and Dug Winningham. In addition to music supervisor Madonna Wade-Reed, as well as sound editors Steve Boeddeker and Adam Smalley and sound designer Pete Horner. Filmmakers Catherine Hardwicke, Jacob Schulsinger, Miguel Arteta and So Yong Kim are set to join the elite group of advisors.