2018 Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its slate of nominees to be voted upon for induction at its Annual Induction & Awards Gala on June 14, 2018, in New York City.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame is dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of those composers and lyricists who create music around the world. To qualify for induction, a songwriter must be a published writer for a minimum of 20 years with a notable catalog of hit songs. Eligible voting members will have until Dec. 17,  to turn in ballots with their choices of three nominees from a non-performing and three from a performing category. For information with which to join or renew as a voting member before November 17 in order to participate in this election, please go to songhall.org/join.

Nominees are:

Non-Performing Songwriters
  • Bill Anderson  
  • L. Russell Brown/Irwin Levine (d) 
  • Mike Chapman 
  • Steve Dorff 
  • Kye Fleming/Dennis Morgan
  • Jermaine Dupri
  • Randy Goodrum
  • Tony Macaulay
  • Denny Randell/Sandy Linzer  
  • Maurice Starr
  • William "Mickey" Stevenson
  • Allee Willis 
 Performing Songwriters
  • Mariah Carey 
  • Tracy Chapman  
  • Jimmy Cliff 
  • Alice Cooper 
  • Tom T. Hall 
  • Chrissie Hynde
  • Ernie, Marvin, O'Kelly, Ronald & Rudolph Isley & Chris Jasper p/k/a "The Isley Brothers"
  • Alan Jackson
  • Robert "Kool" Bell, Ronald Bell, George Brown & James "JT" Taylor (Kool & The Gang)
  • John Mellencamp
  • Eazy-E (d), Dr Dre, Ice Cube, MC Ren & DJ Yella p/k/a "NWA"
  • Tom Waits 
For more, visit songhall.org