The Hollywood Bowl hosted three nights of Maxwell for its annual “Fireworks Finale” this past weekend. Each night featured an opening act which were Pink Sweat$, SiR, and Raveena. 

Three time Grammy winner Maxwell turned 50 this past May and released his debut album Maxwell’s Urban Hang Suite just before his 23rd birthday and it went 2x-Platinum. Maxwell would go on to perform on MTV Unplugged the following year then released four more albums through 2016, three of which were Platinum. Maxwell’s first tour was with George Clinton, The Fugees, and Groove Theory, and would also have co-headline tours with Jill Scott, Fantasia, and Mary J. Blige as well seven headline tours. Maxwell is a six-time Soul Train Music Award winner and two time NAACP Image Award winner. 

Pink Sweat$ opens for Maxwell at the Hollywood Bowl.

Maxwell’s hour and 15-minute set began with an intro before he took the stage and began with “Phoenix Rising.” Maxwell’s set included two of his Grammy winning songs “Pretty Wings'' and “Lake by the Ocean.” The fireworks took place during Ascension (Don’t Ever Wonder) followed by the closer “Whenever Wherever Whatever.”  


  1. Intro
  2. Phoenix Rising
  3. Sumthin’ Sumthin’
  4. Dancewitme
  5. Lifetime
  6. Fortunate
  7. Bad Habits
  8. Stop the World
  9. Always and Forever- Heatwave
  10. Off
  11. Pretty Wings
  12. Fistful of Tears
  13. Lake By the Ocean combined with James Brown’s “The Payback” and Mtume’s “Juicy Fruit.”
  14. Get to Know Ya
  15. Ascension (Don’t Ever Wonder)
  16. Whenever Wherever Whatever