Pulitzer and Tony Award-Winner Michael R. Jackson Receives ASCAP Foundation Award

The ASCAP Foundation recognized playwright, composer and lyricist Michael R. Jackson, creator of the Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award-winning musical A Strange Loop, with The ASCAP Foundation Richard Rodgers New Horizons Award. 

The award was recently presented to Jackson by ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams, Oscar and Tony-winning composer/lyricist Stephen Schwartz (Wicked, The Prince of Egypt) and Tony-winning composer/lyricist Adam Guettel (The Light in the Piazza) at a private luncheon in New York City. Also on hand to honor Jackson were the Oscar and Tony-winning team Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen, La La Land) and ASCAP Chief Executive Officer Elizabeth Matthews

The annual award is given to encourage promising young ASCAP composers of musical theater and is funded by Mary Rodgers and the Rodgers Family Foundation. Previous recipients include Lin-Manuel MirandaPasek & Paul and David Hein & Irene Sankoff (Come From Away).