Play For The Vote Encourages Musicians to Perform On Election Day

Play For The Vote is a musician-run initiative encouraging musicians across the United States to perform on Election Day, with the goal of increasing voter turnout by providing a more positive voter experience. Launched just this month, the organization has already signed up hundreds of musicians in over 40 states. Silkroad announced a production partnership to assist in the recruitment.

Confirmed Play For The Vote performers include musicians who have regularly performed and collaborated with artists such as: Jay-Z, Beyoncé, Kanye West, Frank Ocean, Adele, Paul McCartney, The Chicks, Béla Fleck, Stevie Wonder, Yo-Yo Ma, Katy Perry, Roger Waters, Sufjan Stevens, Norah Jones, Mumford & Sons, Michael Bublé, E Street Band, Jon Batiste, Miley Cyrus, Bon Iver, James Taylor, Aretha Franklin, Philip Glass, Deep Purple, Itzhak Perlman, Bobby McFerrin, Allison Krauss, The New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, The Cleveland Orchestra, Houston Symphony, Oregon Symphony, Silkroad Ensemble, amongst others.

On Saturday Oct. 24, National Early Voting Day, select artists performed at early voting polling locations, including the Founder & Director of Play For The Vote, Mike Block, in Boston, as well as violinist Sam Weiser in San Francisco, harpist for the Houston Symphony, Megan Conley, and Paula Johannesen in Chicago.

Musicians interested in participating can still sign up via the Play For The Vote website. Upon doing so, they will be asked for their location and availability on Election Day (November 3). Play For The Votes’ custom software will match each musician with a location/time assignment to maximize coverage on Election Day.

Once signed up, artists are encouraged to begin promoting their involvement immediately. And when they receive their precise performance assignment, they can simply treat it like a real gig, and help spread the word.

Play For The Vote does not endorse any specific candidate or issues. All performers are welcome. Deadline to sign up is Nov. 1.

More information available here.