Loggins and Messina at the Hollywood Bowl

Loggins and Messina played the Hollywood Bowl September 22nd and 24th. Although Loggins and Messina were only around for five years they released six albums in that time, one live album and another released after their break-up. In that short time Loggins and Messina left a major impact in the music world. After breaking up in 1976 both Kenny Loggins and Jim Messina pursued solo careers. Messina had been a member of Buffalo Springfield and Poco before Loggins and Messina formed. The highly anticipated Hollywood Bowl shows were scheduled for July 15th and 16th. They did two reunion tours which took place in 2005 and 2009 and haven’t played together since a one off show in Santa Barbara in 2018. Loggins’ last L.A. show took place at the Starlight Bowl in Burbank, CA last year. The show was broken into sets with the first half being Loggins and Messina and the second being Loggins solo. When they met in 1970, Messina was working for Columbia Records as an independent record producer and Loggins was a staff song-writer for ABC-Dunhill Records

After an announcement the show was beginning out came Loggins and Messina which is a very rare site these days. Loggins and Messina played a 10 song set which included four songs from their debut album Sittin’ In, three from their second album Loggins and Messina, and one each from their third album Full Sail fourth album Mother Lode. Of Loggins and Messina’s six albums three went Platinum and two went Gold. The set included hits like “House at Pooh Corner,” “Danny’s song,” and the final song “Your Mama Don’t Dance.” Following this set there was an intermission then Loggins returned to the stage with his own band. 

The first set was softer Rock while Loggins brought out more rocking and upbeat songs during his set which included 13 songs. Loggins the king of the 80's movie soundtracks played the themes from Footloose, Caddyshack, and Top Gun. Not only did Loggins play the Top Gun theme, he also performed "Playing With the Boys" from the original movie which comes from the famous volleyball scene that has been imitated in various TV shows and movies. Loggins ended with “Forever.” There was a lot of singing and dancing to these classic film songs. 

Since Loggins debut solo album in 1977 Celebrate Me Home, Loggins has released a total of 14 albums with the last one being All Join In in 2009. Four of those albums went Platinum and three Gold. 

Loggins & Messina Setlist:

  1. Watching the River Run
  2. House at Pooh Corner
  3. Danny's Song
  4. Listen to a Country Song
  5. Holiday Hotel
  6. Lovin' Me / To Make a Woman Feel Wanted / Peace of Mind
  7. Be Free
  8. Angry Eyes


  1. Vahevala
  2. Your Mama Don’t Dance

Kenny Loggins Setlist:

  1. Love Has Come of Age
  2. Heart to Heart
  3. Whenever I Call You Friend
  4. Celebrate Me Home
  5. This Is It
  6. Conviction of the Heart
  7. Meet Me Half Way
  8. I’m Free (Heaven Helps the Man)
  9. Playing With the Boys
  10.  I'm Alright


  1. Danger Zone
  2. Footloose
  3. Forever