Dirty Knobs

Dirty Knobs at the Mint in Los Angeles, CA

Heartbreakers and new Fleetwood Mac guitarist Mike Campbell and his band the Dirty Knobs played the Mint on July 11th with supergroup JackiO.

JackiO is former Oingo Boingo members Steve Bartek (Guitar/Vocals) and John Avila (Bass/Vocals), Guitarist/Singer Ira Ingber (Captain Beefheart, Bob Dylan)  and Drummer/Singer Dave Raven (Keith Richards, T-Bone Burnett). My favorite part was JackiO taking the Oingo Boingo hit “Dead Man’s Party” and making more jazz style along with Avila singing lead vocals. Another highlight was JackiO’s cover of the Rolling Stones’ “It’s All Over Now.”

From the founding of the Heartbreakers in 1976 to Tom Petty’s passing last year, Campbell was always his right-hand man. I was fortunate enough to see Petty and The Heartbreakers five times and on the 40th Anniversary tour. I remember Petty telling a story of how Campbell and him connected over being Chuck Berry fans and Petty stated, “This guy is going to be in my band forever.” Campbell was also part of all three of Petty’s solo releases. With the departure of Lindsey Buckingham from Fleetwood Mac this year, Campbell became their new guitarist. This was my first Dirty Knobs show and it is a must-see band for any Petty fan or anyone inspired by Campbell’s musicianship.

Along with Campbell, the Dirty Knobs are Don Henley bassist Lance Morrison, well-known session musicians Jason Sinay (Guitar) musicians Matt Laug (Drums). As a tribute to Petty, The Dirty Knobs played Something Good Coming and Runnin Down a Dream.

Dirty Knobs Setlist

  1. Feed The Snake
  2. Shake These Blues
  3. Angel of Mercy
  4. Little Irish Girl
  5. Pistol Packin Mama
  6. Don’t Knock the Boogies
  7. Humdinger
  8. I Still Love You
  9. She Got the Sugar
  10. Armageddon
  11. Don’t Wait
  12. Bloodhound Blues
  13. Southern Boy
  14. Something Good Coming
  15.  Runnin Down a Dream