Jonas Brothers

Jonas Brothers at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles

The phrase "Happiness Begins" was spelled out through the skies of sunny Los Angeles on a Sunday, Oct. 20. To an average person that might seem like a strange thing to see when looking up but to a Jonas Brothers fan (like me), it was a sign that the boys were back in town.

That's right, the brothers returned to Los Angeles for two back-to-back shows at the Hollywood Bowl. Both nights were opened by songstress Bebe Rexha and rising singer-songwriter Jordan McGraw. Popping out of three light-up frames with pyrotechnics, the Jonas Brothers began their set with the banger "Rollercoaster" from their latest album Happiness Begins. The 20-plus songs setlist featured all the fan favorites that I used to listen to when I was a teen including "S.O.S," "Love Bug" and "When You Look Me in the Eyes."

The band didn't shy away from their roots by projecting videos on the screens from their childhood including scenes of them performing when they used to be younger. It was sweet to reminisce about how the band has grown as artists throughout the years. Their setlist also embraced their past as they performed an array of hits from their entire catalog.

The band performed a medley of "Mandy / Paranoid / Got Me Going Crazy / Play My Music / World War III / Hold On / Tonight," old favorites like "Year 300" and "Gotta Find You" from the film Camp Rock. Each of the boys also had their own time to shine onstage, Nick performed his solo hit "Jealous," while Joe sang "Cake by the Ocean" from his side project DNCE and Kevin performed on the piano. The band even gave the fans a fun treat by letting them decide on a song to sing. After some fun banter the fans ultimately chose the sweet ballad "Hello Beautiful." The Jonas Brothers had a surprise up their sleeves towards the end and brought out former bodyguard Big Rob for the song "Burning Up."

The Jonas Brothers sounded fantastic live and played to their strengths—showing off their charismatic style through different costume changes and playful dynamic. The Hollywood Bowl was the perfect venue choice for their return to Los Angeles as they were able to set off a plentiful amount of fireworks to the skies. A perfect way to celebrate their return to music.


Jonas Brothers Setlist

  1. Rollercoaster
  2. S.O.S.
  3. Cool
  4. Only Human
  5. Strangers
  6. That's Just the Way We Roll
  7. Fly With Me
  8. Used to Be
  9. Hesitate
  10. Hello Beautiful
  11. Gotta Find You
  12. Jealous
  13. Cake by the Ocean
  14. Comeback
  15. When You Look Me in the Eyes
  16. I Believe
  17. Mandy / Paranoid / Got Me Going Crazy / Play My Music / World War III / Hold On / Tonight
  18. Lovebug
  19. Year 3000
  20. Burnin' Up
  21. Sucker

Photos by Jacqueline Naranjo