Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden at the Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles

I watched the sunset over Banc of California Stadium as I sat hopelessly stuck on the off-ramp, waiting to get into the sold-out Iron Maiden Legacy of The Beast tour. I was only 0.8 miles from the venue as I got caught in bumper to bumper traffic for over 90 grueling minutes, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the show from afar.  I rolled down the windows in my jeep as "The Raven Age" played for the lucky fans that had already made it inside the venue.

When my car finally crawled into the parking lot and I paid my $40.00 parking fee (I guess that’s why they call it the "Banc"), I grabbed my gear and ran as fast I could with only 10 minutes to spare before the second band, Fozzy, was set to play.

With adrenaline pumping through my veins, I strapped on my gear as Fozzy's frontman Chris Jericho took to the front of the stage. Delivering a fun and energetic performance, the band opened with “Judas,” followed by “Enemy” and a rendition of AC/DC’s “Dirty Deeds, Done Dirt Cheap.” Fozzy went on to play another 30 minutes of rocking tunes while the crowd waited in anticipation for the heavy metal gods, Iron Maiden, to take the stage.


As the stage was cleared and prepared for Iron Maiden's set, the stadium was filled with the tracks “Transylvania,” “Doctor Doctor” and finally “Churchill‘s Speech.” Then, a World War II fighter plane descended over the stage and lead singer Bruce Dickinson jumped onto the stage to the deafening roar of Southern California's finest metalheads.



Opening with one of the bands older songs, “Ace’s High,” the legendary heavy metal band played on a stage designed to look like a war zone. After the first song, Dickinson ran around to the back of the stage to change while fellow band members took to the front to play “Where Eagles Dare.” Soon the lead singer reappeared at the back of the stage adorned in white winter wear including a trapper style hat.





And again, after song three, Bruce Dickinson left for a third outfit change. This time he reappeared in black leather pants and a camo printed vest, before launching into “2 Minutes to Midnight”.

Supported by an impressive 40 years of music, the legendary heavy metal band played an eclectic set of songs that ranged over the decades.





Song List includes:

  1. Aces High
  2. Where Eagles Dare
  3. 2 Minutes to Midnight
  4. The Clansman
  5. The Trooper
  6. Revelations
  7. For the Greater Good of God
  8. The Wicker Man
  9. Sign of the Cross
  10. Flight of Icarus
  11. Fear of the Dark
  12. The Number of the Beast
  13. Iron Maiden


The Evil That Men Do, Hallowed Be Thy Name, Run to the Hills