International Songwriting Competition Announces Winners

ISC 2015The International Songwriting Competition (ISC), an international songwriting competition, has announced its 2014 winners. With over 18,000 entries submitted from 118 countries, a total of 345 songwriters are honored in the competition.

ISC's overall Grand Prize is awarded to Australian singer/songwriter Vance Joy for his song "Riptide." It is the first time in ISC's 14-year history that any entrant has ever received perfect scores across the board. The song is being called an instant classic by both critics and fans across the world, launching Joy's career with sold-out tours, worldwide chart success and critical acclaim.

"It is such an honor to win this songwriting prize," said Joy. "Writing songs is what gives me a feeling of purpose. I'm proud to receive this award voted on by my songwriting peers." The Grand Prize winner receives $25,000 in cash plus $45,000 in services and merchandise, including a custom-built Lowden guitar valued at over $11,000, a Hammond organ, Abelton Push, Live 9 Suite and much more.

Read More: Signing Story: Australian Artist Vance Joy

Vance Joy ISC

Winners were selected by a panel of Judges including: American Authors, Pat Metheny, Sarah McLachlan, Bastille, Avicii, Sara Evans, Keane, Casting Crowns, Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.), Newsboys, Wayne Shorter, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, London Grammar, Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes), Gerald Casale (Devo), Dan McCarroll (President, Warner Bros. Records), Craig Kallman (Chairman/CEO, Atlantic Records), Mike Smith (President, Virgin EMI Records), Jeff Castelaz  (President, Elektra Records), Ted Cockle (President, Virgin Records UK) and many more.

"ISC is one of the most successful ways for artists to have their music heard and recognized on not only a national scale, but also an international one," stated Candace Avery, Founder and Director. "The competition encourages songwriters to create, develop, and challenge their artistry by creating something truly meaningful. It is vital for all artists to be recognized for their talents, as well as to be awarded respect and validation for their accomplishments. Vance Joy exemplifies the extraordinary talent we are looking to honor."

Created in 2002, ISC awards more than $150,000 in cash and prizes to winners of the competition. Winners range from amateur songwriters starting their careers to professional songwriters with years worth of experience. Previous ISC winners include Bastille, Passenger, Kate Miller-Heidke, Lindsey Stirling, Gotye, the Band Perry, Kasey Chambers, Gin Wigmore, King Charles, Kimbra, Gregory Porter, Omar Sosa, For King & Country and many more.

ISC is now accepting entries for 2015. For more information, visit songwritingcompetition.com.

For a complete list of 2014 ISC winners and to hear the winning songs, visit songwritingcompetition.com/winners.