Foster the People at Wiltern Theater

After three years off the road, Foster the People finally made a return to the stage in celebration of the 10th anniversary of their debut album Torches, with three consecutive shows at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angeles, CA (Nov. 17-19).

However, they did play in Mexico just five days earlier. Torches hit number one in Australia, eight in the U.S., and went 2x platinum. Torches also included five charting singles, the diamond selling number three hit “Pumped Up Kicks,” “Helena Beat,” “Call It What You Want,” “Don’t Stop (Color On the Walls),” and “Houdini.”

The group itself had their 10th anniversary in 2019. The Wiltern turned 90 last year. Of the original trio just Mark Foster (Lead Vocals/Guitar) remains as bassist Jacob “Cubbie” Fink left in 2015 and drummer Mark Pontius left earlier this year to raise his daughter. This was the first time the album was played in its entirety and may also be the last time.

Foster the People have been nominated for awards among 18 different award shows including the Grammys, MTV VMA’s, Brit Awards, and iHeart Music Awards. They have won a Billboard Music Award and WEQX award for “Pumped Up Kicks,” two MVPA Awards for “Houdini,” and a SharkOne award for New Artist of the Year. Foster the people also re-released the album for the 10th anniversary. They also played the Wiltern 10 years ago.

Foster the People had the venue decorated to go along with the album having a suit with a flaming head in the lobby for fans to take photos with and on the second floor the different faces from the album displayed as well as what looked like a big crystal mine outside by the merch table. Foster the people played three songs starting with “Lamb’s Wool,” before playing all of Torches beginning to end from “Helena Beat” to “Pseudologia Fantastica.” Oddly enough on “Broken Jaw,” the song had to be stopped and restarted due to a safety issue in the pit. Following Torches was a two song encore of “Sit Next to Me” and “Lotus Easter.”

So far there are no other shows scheduled for the rest of 2021 or 2022, however the the third show will livestreamed.

  1. Lamb’s Wool

  2. Coming of Age

  3. The Things We Do


  1. Helena Beat

  2. Pumped Up Kicks

  3. Call It What You Want

  4. Don't Stop (Color on the Walls)

  5. Waste

  6. I Would Do Anything for You

  7. Houdini

  8. Life on the Nickel

  9. Miss You

  10. Warrant

  11. Chin Music for the Unsuspecting Hero

  12. Broken Jaw

  13. Pseudologia Fantastica

Encore :

  1. Sit Next to Me

  2. Lotus Easter