ASCAP Screen Music Awards Recognize Film & TV Composers

Recognizing the musical storytellers scoring today’s top films, TV series and video games, The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers announced the winners of the 2023 ASCAP Screen Music Awards. ASCAP celebrated its full slate of award-winning composers at an intimate, invitation-only party in West Hollywood. As part of the celebration, the winners of the highly anticipated 2023 ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards were revealed live among an audience of peers.
Chosen by the ASCAP composer and songwriter community, the ASCAP Composers' Choice Awards are unique among US performing rights organizations. The 2023 winners, selected from an outstanding group of nominees, crafted the scores for a sweeping sci-fi horror film, a critically-acclaimed, satirical comedy-drama series, a cutting-edge docuseries exploring the super-senses of the world’s most extraordinary animals, a definitive documentary on Tony Hawk’s life and iconic career and a Norse mythology-inspired action-adventure game:
●     Film Score of the Year: Nope - Michael Abels
     Television Score of the Year: The White Lotus - Cristobal Tapia de Veer & Kim Neundorf
     Television Theme of the Year: The White Lotus - Cristobal Tapia de Veer
     Documentary Score of the Year: Super/Natural - Amanda Jones; Tony Hawk: Until the Wheels Fall Off - Jeff Cardoni (tie)
     Video Game Score of the Year: God of War Ragnarök - Bear McCreary
The complete list of winners is available on the ASCAP website: www.ascap.com/screenawards23.