ASCAP Celebrates Winners of Pop Music Awards

ASCAP, the only U.S. PRO that operates as a not-for-profit, celebrates the winners of its 40th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards. The awards recognize the songwriters and publishers of the most performed songs of the past year based on Luminate data for terrestrial and satellite radio and streaming services.
“STAY,” the chart-topping smash performed by The Kid LAROI and ASCAP member Justin Bieber, who co-wrote the song, wins ASCAP Pop Music Song of the Year. The infectious synth-pop hit notched seven weeks at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart last summer and was #1 on Apple Music’s top 100 global songs chart for 51 days straight. “STAY,” which is published by Universal Music Publishing Group and Bieber Time Publishing, also took the #1 slot on both Billboard’s Year-End Adult Pop Airplay Songs and Year-End Radio Songs charts.
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA - MAY 18: (L-R) Loretta Muñoz, AVP, ASCAP, Fousheé, Jason Silberman, AVP Pop/ Rock Membership, ASCAP, and Paul Williams, President and Chairman of the Board, ASCAP attends the ASCAP 2023 Pop Music Awards Celebration at Yamashiro Hollywood on May 18, 2023 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Lester Cohen/Getty Images for ASCAP)
The overwhelming amount of radio airplay and number of streams for hit songs such as “Big Energy” (Latto), “Need to Know” (Doja Cat) and “Super Freaky Girl” (Nicki Minaj) make producer Dr. Luke the ASCAP Pop Music Songwriter of the Year. Listeners’ love of Doja Cat’s “Woman” and “You Right” propelled them to the top of the charts and contributed to the win. (As specified by ASCAP Pop Music Awards rules, the Pop Music Songwriter of the Year is determined by the total number of a writer’s shares in ASCAP Pop Music Award-winning songs multiplied by the winning songs’ impressions, which are calculated based on Luminate data on radio and streaming.)
Other songwriters honored for their ASCAP Pop Music Award-winning songs include Billy Walsh (“Die for You,” “I Like You,” “One Right Now”), Cardi B (“Wild Side”), Dua Lipa (“Sweetest Pie”), Fousheé (“Bad Habit”), Greg Kurstin (“Easy on Me”), Henry “Cirkut” Walter (“Die for You,” “Unholy”), Kim Petras (“Unholy”), Louis Bell (“I Like You,” “One Right Now”), Phil Plested (“I’m Good (Blue)”), Sarah Hudson (“Sweetest Pie”), Sia (“Unstoppable”), Starrah (“Wild Side”), Theron Thomas (“About Damn Time,” “Big Energy”) and Vaughn Oliver (“Big Energy,” “Super Freaky Girl”).
ASCAP celebrates with its winners tonight at an exclusive, invitation-only party in Hollywood. A complete list of 2023 ASCAP Pop Music Awards honorees can be found at www.ascap.com/popawards23.