Across the Great Divide

Across the Great Divide Concert Recap

For the first time in music history, the Americana Music Association and the Blues Foundation came together for a concert benefiting both organizations. This unique event titled "Across the Great Divide," named after the song by The Band, took place at the Theatre at Ace Hotel on Oct. 19. The evening’s musical director was Basic Cable Band (Conan) leader Jimmy Vivino with a house band including his fellow band members Mike Merritt (bass) and James Wormworth (drums) and Jackson Browne's keyboardist Jeff Young. Each performer played a mini-set around three songs. The evening was hosted by comedian Marc Maron who is known for his WTF podcast.

The show opened with the house band performing The Band’s “Across the Great Divide,” and the show continued with a set of Americana and blues classics, as well as a performance of their own songs. The lineup for the evening consisted of Larkin Poe, Doyle Bramhall II, Shemekia Copeland, Lucinda Williams, Slash, Joe Louis Walker, Tal Wilkenfeld, Tash Neal, Bob Weir, and John Prine. The setlist included “Ohio,” “Truckin’,” “Summers End,” and a big finale of The Band’s “The Weight,” with all performers.

Across the Great Divide – House Band

Marc Maron Welcome

“Black Betty” – Larkin Poe

“Trouble in Mind” – Larkin Poe

Marc Maron Intro for Doyle Bramhall II

“Mama Can’t Help You” – Doyle Bramhall II

“Going Going Gone” – Doyle Bramhall II

Jimmy Vivino Intro for Shemekia Copeland

“Cry to Me” – Shemekia Copeland

“Aint Got Time to Hate” – Shemekia Copeland

Marc Maron Intro for Lucinda Williams

“Stop Breakin’ Down” – Lucinda Williams SOLO

“Come to Me Baby” – Lucinda Williams

“Joy” – Lucinda Williams and Doyle Bramhall II

“Steppin’ Out” – Marc Maron with Slash

Jimmy Vivino Intro for Joe Louis Walker

“Mind to Give Up Living” – Joe Louis Walker with Slash

“T Bone Shuffle” – Joe Louis Walker

Jimmy Vivino Intro for Tash Neal

“Ohio” – Tash Neal

“Goin’ Down” - Tash Neal, Slash, Tal Wilkenfeld (on bass)

Jimmy Vivino Intro for the Band and Tal

“Piece of Me” – Tal

Marc Maron Intro for Lee Ann Womack

“Long Black Veil” – Lee Ann Womack

“Hollywood” – Lee Ann Womack

“Trouble in Mind” – Lee Ann Womack

Marc Maron Intro to Bob Weir

“Cassidy” – Bob Weir with Larkin Poe

“Ripple” – Bob Weir

“Midnight Hour” – Bob Weir

“Truckin’” – Bob Weir

Marc Maron Intro to John Prine

“Knockin’ on the Door” – John Prine SOLO

“Chain of Sorrow” – John Prine SOLO

“Summers End” – John Prine SOLO

“Angel from Montgomery” – John Prine

Greg Williamson, Jed Hilly and Barbara Newman remarks

“The Weight” – Group Finale