Composers celebrated at 33rd Annual ASCAP Screen Music Awards

The American Society of Composer, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) celebrated the composers of the past year’s most performed music in TV, film and video games on May 22, at the 33rd annual ASCAP Screen Music Awards at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. Composer John Powell, who has scored more than 60 films—including the upcoming Solo: A Star Wars Story—was awarded the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award for his outstanding achievements and contributions to the world of film and television music.

Powell is best known for his scores for the Bourne trilogy and for his animated film scores, including How to Train Your Dragon (for which he was nominated for an Oscar), FOX’s Oscar-nominated Ferdinand, as well as Antz, Shrek, three Ice Age sequels, Rio and more. Onstage, Powell paid tribute to the late Henry Mancini, by conducting the orchestra in a medley of the composer’s music.

The night’s other honoree, Germaine Franco, was recognized with the ASCAP Shirley Walker Award, which honors those whose achievements have contributed to the diversity of film and television music. Franco, who was songwriter, co-orchestrator, arranger and producer  for the Disney/Pixar film Coco, conducted the orchestra, along with vocalist Anthony Gonzalez (who voiced the role of Miguel in the film).

The three ASCAP Composers’ Choice winners were also announced. The ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards were inaugurated by ASCAP in 2014 and are voted on exclusively by the ASCAP composer and songwriter community. Dave Porter won TV Composer of the Year for his work on Better Call Saul, The Blacklist, Preacher and more. Film Score of the Year was a tie between Jonny Greenwood for Phantom Thread and Hans Zimmer for Dunkirk. Video Game Score of the Year went to Gordy Haab for Star Wars Battlefront II.

Awards for Most Performed Themes and Underscore went to TV composers Joel Beckerman, Cat Gray, Jared Gutstadt, Jeffrey Lippencott, Didier Lean Rachou, Ed Robertson, Mark Snow, David Vanacore, Mark T. Williams and Hans Zimmer.

The award for Top Network TV Series went to Dan Romer for ABC’s The Good Doctor; Top Box Office Film went to Heitor Pereira for Despicable Me 3 and Top Cable Television Series went to Trent Reznor for his work on the PBS series, The Vietnam War.

In addition to music from Powell and Franco, the ASCAP Screen Music Awards audience of composer and industry executives enjoyed live versions of top TV and movie themes from some of the evening’s winners. Dan Romer conducted a medley of his themes from The Good Doctor and composer Michael Abels was joined by the Selah Gospel Choir for “Sikiliza Kwa Wahenga” from the Oscar-winning film Get Out.

You can view a complete list of 2018 ASCAP Screen Music Awards winners here.