Rami Dawod

SESAC Celebrates Pop Songwriter of the Year Rami Dawod

On Oct. 16, SESAC hosted an intimate dinner to celebrate affiliate songwriter Rami Dawod as Pop Songwriter of the Year. The song “Never Be The Same,” co-written by Dawod, along with Camila Cabello, Frank Dukes, Sasha Sloan and Jacob Olofsson, was also named Pop Song of the Year, with awards presented to Dawod and DAWODMUSIC.  For the celebration, several music industry colleagues came together at Nobu in Malibu to recognize Dawod and the song’s success. “Never Be The Same,” recorded by Camila Cabello, became the artist’s third number-one single and spent three weeks at the top of the charts. In addition, Rolling Stone ranked it #4 of the “50 Best Songs of 2018.”

Rami Dawod is a Grammy-winning writer-producer-artist, who has had a hand in creating multiple hits, including “Electricity,” performed by Mark Ronson and Silk City ft. Dua Lipa, which won him a Grammy for Best Dance Recording in 2018. Dawod makes up one half of the production duo Jarami alongside Olofsson. Earlier this year, Dawod joined the roster of independent music publisher Reservoir.

SESAC Performing Rights Organization is the second oldest PRO in the U.S.  SESAC represents over 30,000 songwriters and film composers from a broad range of genres including artists such as Adele, Bob Dylan, Neil Diamond, David Crosby, Rosanne Cash, Mariah Carey, Kesha, Lalah Hathaway, Christophe Beck, Gabriel Mann and many more. Its affiliates including The Harry Fox Agency, Rumblefish, and Mint Digital Services. SESAC Holdings has offices in New York, Nashville, Los Angeles, London and Munich.